Pērkons is a legendary Latvian rock band in which the author of the songs, the pianist Juris Kulakovs, the vocalists Ieva Akurātere and Raimonds Bartaševičs, the bassist Juris Sējāns, the solo-guitarist Leons Sējāns and the drummer Ikars Ruņģis are playing. The dawn of the band date back to 1981. In 1985 the band was forbidden because of the notorious “Ogre concert”. At the time of awakening of Latvian independence the band’s creation symbolized resistance to all Soviet. The most popular songs among the nation are with the texts of Klāvs Elsbergs, Māra Melgalva and others.